2016 New Year’s Resolutions:

Ballet

Even though I constantly set goals, I always make a point to have New Year’s resolutions.

One of my new year’s resolutions is to go see more art as well as learn about it (whether it means a ballet, an art museum, a play, an orchestra). So far I have seen three live ballets: The Nutcracker, Swan Lake, and most recently, Giselle. I am super excited because I just purchased tickets to go see the ballet “Romeo & Juliet” and I purchased tickets to go see the YAGP Gala. 

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 11.11.24 AM

Photo from the State Ballet of Russia

 

My second New Year’s resolution is confidence because it is something that I have always struggled with.  I am naturally a rather shy person but once I get to know you I become comfortable and “normal”.

As far as my New Year’s resolutions for dance go, I want to make writing down the corrections and combinations that I am given a habit. I have a notebook and I sometimes write them down but I do not do it consistently.    

Another dance goal of mine is my releve (in other words what my feet look like when I stand on my toes). I have naturally arched feet but I have been working on my feet quite a bit. This has helped the arches in my feet to become more defined. Nevertheless, there is room for improvement. I am wanting the arch of my foot to be in line with the tip of my toes. This is what my releve looks like right now:

IMG_1129

This is what my foot looks like when I releve with ballet shoes off

As you can see the arch of my foot is behind my toes. This is what I want my feet to look like: 

Kiew-2013-Yana-Kudryavtseva-world-champion-with-PASTORELLI-half-shoes-Alcantara-model_medium

These are Yana Kudryavtseva’s perfect feet.

Notice that the arch of her feet is right above her toes.  

I do not own the photo of Romeo and Juliet or Yana Kudryavtseva.

 

Leave a Reply

